The current WWE World Heavyweight Champion, Brock Lesnar, is about as part-timer as a part-timer can be. He rarely shows up on WWE programming, and in my opinion it is hurting the product. The current frontrunner for the title is the aforementioned John Cena, and that is hurting the product. The writers for the main roster have become so afraid of taking risks that they've simply counted on John Cena to go after the title. Their big plan for the future is Roman Reigns, who has yet to prove his place among the top tier of wrestlers. He has the look, but his mic skills are lacking.
The Tag Team Championships currently belong to The Miz and (the wildly more popular) Damien Mizdow. They're feuding with the Usos at the moment. The angle has been interesting, but mostly because Damien Mizdow is rising above anything the other three are offering at the moment. The United States Champion is Rusev, and his reign has been getting better. While he still needs a mouthpiece on the mic, and Lana has been fantastically heelish in the role, Rusev's actions in the ring are improving on a week to week basis. The Intercontinental Champion is Dolph Ziggler and, lately, Ziggler has been carrying the program. He, along with Money in the Bank Briefcase holder Seth Rollins, have upped the bar on wrestling skill and performance.
So, with the company firmly on the Road to WrestleMania, how would I book things going forward? Yes, this is pure speculation. It's basically guaranteed to be wrong. But it's fun to write.
The Tag Team Championships
The Miz and Damien Mizdow (formerly Sandow) hold the copper belts. Mizdow was brought in as a "stunt double" for the Miz's ultra-heel Hollywood celebrity gimmick. Mizdow mimics every move The Miz does, and the fans love him for it. The current champs are going to break apart. That's a given. Mizdow is so over that he has to eventually break away and overcome The Miz. I actually look for that to happen before WrestleMania, so the two can have their big payoff match on the grandest stage.
The titles, meanwhile, will probably drop back to the Usos. The Usos are very talented, though their act is growing a bit stale. They may be turning heel by the summer, but ay WrestleMania 31, they'll probably face the Ascension, a team that is set to debut on Raw on December 29.
The United States Championship
![]() |
| Rusev beating up Big E Langston |
Rusev should, by all rights, hold this title until WrestleMania 31. Who is opponent will be, though, remains to be seen. Rusev has yet to lose by pin fall. He's been disqualified and counted out, but never pinned cleanly. He's overcome Sheamus, Jack Swagger, Mark Henry, and the Big Show. The logical opponent for him is John Cena, though I have bigger plans for Cena.
Bo Dallas is due to return from injury soon, but I don't think he works here. I think the better way to go here would be fore Rusev to carry the belt into WrestleMania and face someone like Big E Langston or Kofi Kingston. Once Rusev wins and beats down his opponent afterwards, Kurt Angle comes out from backstage and hits an Angle Slam on the Bulgarian, leaving him laid out in the ring. Of course, this requires Kurt Angle to return.
The Intercontinental Championship

Dolph Ziggler is a midcard champion that should be in the main event at WrestleMania. But, thanks to Vince McMahon's love of muscle-bound brutes, Ziggler has likely hit his ceiling in the WWE with the IC Title. His recent battles with Luke Harper and Seth Rollins have stolen every show they've been a part of. Ziggler is, hands down, one of the best wrestlers in the industry.
He should still be champion at WrestleMania, and his opponent should be someone who melds well with his style. For Ziggler, because he has a ring chemistry with almost everyone, that leaves us a wide range of options. Knowing the current main roster writers, they'll probably stick him against someone like Kane. Nothing against Kane, but his better wrestling days are behind him, Ziggler needs to face someone like Rollins or Ambrose. But I would actually book him against Adrian Neville for the title. Those two would deliver such a good match.
The WWE World Heavyweight Championship
Absentee champion Brock Lesnar will likely carry the title into WrestleMania. I like Brock's character, and I love any moment in which Paul Heyman can be on TV. But I'm sick of Lesnar as champion. I actually want John Cena to defeat Lesnar at Royal Rumble just to get the WWE World Heavyweight Championship back on regular TV. But I have another motive...
![]() |
| Cena doesn't need the MITB briefcase, but he could probably get it if he wanted it... |
Couldn't do it, could you? Instead, I would have Cena beat Lesnar at the Rumble and have Reigns win the Rumble match itself. At WrestleMania, Reigns and Cena would square off in a babyface vs babyface contest. Reigns, of course, would win this contest, taking the title off Cena. The face of the company would congratulate the new champion by taking the title to present it Reigns. That's when it finally happens. Cena instead blasts Reigns with the title before hitting an AA on the belt.

As Reigns writhes in agony, Seth Rollins comes out with the Money in the Bank briefcase. As Reigns is coming back around, Rollins curb stomps him on the title belt, cashes in the briefcase, and becomes the new WWE World Heavyweight Champion. As Rollins is celebrating with the title, John Cena climbs back into the ring. He stares down Rollins before shaking his hand.
The next night on Raw, John Cena opens the show by introducing the new WWE World Heavyweight Champion, Seth Rollins. Cena and Rollins join forces and tear through the main roster. Rollins and Reigns battle through the summer for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship. Cena targets Dolph Ziggler and the Intercontinental Championship. To show his heelishness, Cena even brings back the Authority, aligning himself with Triple H. We all want the Cena Heel Turn, so let's make it happen.




No comments:
Post a Comment