26 June 2014

Money in the Bank PPV Preview & Predictions

We're closing in on the next big pay-per-view event for the WWE, and this one has rapidly become one of the more popular events on the calendar. Money in the Bank is a big time event, not just for the fans, but for the writers, as well. The writers can use this event to set up future storylines built around rising young talent. Or they can use it to further a story by heaping even more heel heat on someone. Look at the last few MITB briefcase holders.

Damien Sandow is the story of Creative not knowing what to do with the guy who they had decided to put the briefcase on, especially in light of the fact that the champion at the time was golden boy John Cena. Sandow met Cena in the ring after Cena had returned early from elbow surgery and had somehow magically won the World Heavyweight Championship. Sandow viciously beat Cena with the briefcase and decied to cash in. Cena, with only one working arm, proceeded to defeat Sandow to retain the championship. Sandow has since gone on an ugly losing streak. Cena remains near the top of the WWE's pecking order.

Randy Orton won the briefcase for the WWE Championship in 2013 and cashed in at SummerSlam. Daniel Bryan had won the WWE championship from the ailing John Cena. As Bryan and Triple H celebrated his victory in the ring, Orton stalked into view. Triple H kicked Bryan in the gut and pedigreed him, allowing Orton to cash in and win the title.

Dolph Ziggler had my all-time favorite cash in. Just watch.

Winning the briefcase is almost a guaranteed push, unless your name is Damien Sandow. So with the upcoming event primed to make someone's career, let's examine the matches and determine who we think will win.

PREDICTIONS
The matches below are not necessarily listed in the order they will appear on the PPV itself.

Tradition Championship Contract MITB Ladder Match
Dolph Ziggler, Kofi Kingston, Rob Van Dam, Jack Swagger, Dean Ambrose, Seth Rollins
Bad News Barrett was supposed to be in this match, but he appears to be injured, so that changes things. The key storyline here is Rollins vs Ambrose, and it will likely look to come down to those two. Ambrose's lunatic fringe gimmick is a thing of beauty. Rollins has played the smarmy heel very well. His connection to Triple H is apparent, though it also seems to not be as overt as Orton's connection to The Game. With Ambrose and Rollins likely taking so much of the story in this match, I'll be honest that I don't see them either winning. The former members of the Shield have enough story to fill out several weeks of TV time, so neither needs to chase a title right now. Therefore...
Winner: Dolph Ziggler
Why? He's over with every audience. He's a proven commodity when holding the briefcase and he can make anyone look good. Seeing Ziggler challenge any one of the championship ladder match competitors is no stretch.

Tag Team Championship Match
The Wyatt Family vs The Usos
The Wyatt Family looks like the next logical progression of tag team in the WWE. The Usos have been champions for a long while and have taken down all challengers, but the Wyatts are as over as anyone in the WWE right now, so putting the belts on them seems a smart move.

Winner: Wyatt Family

Why? The Usos have had a good run, but it's time to put the belts on someone else and potentially freshen up the tag team scene. The Tag Team Division is in dire need of being revitalized.


Divas Championship Match
Naomi vs Paige (c) 
Paige has been lackluster in her reign as champion, but it's hardly her fault. The booking has been poor and WWE is more concerned with having models in their Divas Division than actual wrestlers.
Winner: Paige
Why? Taking the belt off Paige doesn't seem a good move right now. Paige hasn't been portrayed as the dominant anti-diva she was in NXT, for some reason...

Tag Team Match
RybAxel vs Goldust & Stardust (or GoldStar) (or The Dust Bros.)
Cody Rhodes is no more. He has been replaced by the eccentric Stardust. Painted and dressed similarly to brother Goldust, Cody has changed his character and is actually over with the fans. Otherwise, this is a filler match.
Winner: Goldust & Stardust
Why? This match goes one of two ways. The Dust Bros. win if WWE intends to move them forward toward potential tag team gold. Cody's character change to Stardust is interesting, to say the least. If WWE's intent is for the Dust Bros. to feud heading into SummerSlam, then RybAxel might win here.

Singles Match
Rusev vs Big E
This will be the longest match of Rusev's career, but it will still take you longer to read this description than the match will actually last.
Winner: Rusev
Why? Why not?





Singles Match
Layla vs Summer Rae (Special Referee: Fandango)
Another filler match, meant to blow off the feud between Summer Rae and Fandango...but at this point no one really cares.. I mean, the selling point of this feud so far is that Summer Rae poured milk on Layla. Yeah, thrilling TV, guys...
Winner: Summer Rae
Why? Why not?



WWE World Heavyweight Championship Ladder Match
John Cena, Randy Orton, Alberto Del Rio, Sheamus, Cesaro, Bray Wyatt, Roman Reigns, Kane
Adding Kane doesn't really make this match better. Cena and Orton are old news when it comes to the WWE World Heavyweight Championship picture, but they're also the safest picks. Del Rio and Sheamus are among the most stale characters ever in WWE. Cesaro is a babyface turn away from main eventing for the company. Bray Wyatt and Roman Reigns may main event WrestleMania together at some point, but neither is ready for the top tier championship run. Reigns is slated to face Triple H at SummerSlam, so he won't win. Cena looks to be the best bet, especially given that Daniel Bryan will be back at some point...and there's the guy we haven't heard from in a long time: Brock Lesnar.

Winner: John Cena

Why? He's the safe pick and the guy most likely to keep the title warm until Daniel Bryan gets back. The other option is to split the title by having one guy grab the WWE Championship and someone else grabs the World Heavyweight Championship. It would allow Creative to make separate storylines, but that's not really their style.

No comments:

Post a Comment