Let's talk about titles. In wrestling, championships are used to further feuds and elevate certain guys up the roster. Giving a guy a long title run can restore prestige to a title that the Creative Department has allowed to slip. Unfortunately, this plan of attack can backfire. Case in point: the WWE United States Championship.
Shield member Dean Ambrose won the United States Championship (alternatively referred to as the US Title) in May of 2013. At the time, the title was put on Ambrose as a means of showing off the dominance of the Shield. Roman Reigns and Seth Rollins also won the Tag Team Championship the same night. While they would later drop the Tag Team belts, Ambrose still holds the US Title.
Currently, the Shield is embroiled in a feud with the newly reformed Evolution (Triple H, Batista, and Randy Orton). With this feud taking up so much of Creative's energy, the US Title has fallen on the back burner. But let's be honest, the US Title has fallen off Creative's radar long before that.
Ambrose has only defended the title a few times in his nearly-year long reign, and while it's easy to view him as a weak champion, the truth is more complicated. See, as we all know, wrestling is scripted. The action in the ring is real, in so much as many of the moves legitimately hurt, and crowd reactions are often organic. But the outcomes are predetermined. When Brock Lesnar defeated the Undertaker at WrestleMania 30, Lesnar, Undertaker, and only a few others knew what would happen, but that was the intended outcome. When Daniel Bryan won the title later that night, it was already scripted that he would do so, as payoff for an eight-month long feud with Triple H and Randy Orton. So if a title goes a long time without being defended, it's up to Creative to make better storylines to deal with that title.
Back in the dark days of the 1980s, when the National Wrestling Alliance (NWA) was still around, before it became World Championship Wrestling (WCW), they really knew how to handle their mid-card titles. The most memorable mid-card title, at least in my mind, was the Television Title, which seemed to always be held by the "Enforcer," Arn Anderson.
Anderson, as a member of the legendary Four Horsemen, was capable of adding prestige to a title by simply holding it. The NWA/WCW Creative Department was actually quite good a crafting story lines around all their championships. The current Creative Team of WWE seems to like the ability to handle anything more than one or two story lines. They've recently launched a tournament to determine the Intercontinental Championship #1 Contender. While it's a great move, and it gives current champion Big E Langston (that's right, he's still Big E Langston to me) something to do.
While Dean Ambrose holds the United States Title, his feuds are often wrapped around the Shield, meaning establishing one on one feuds is difficult. The Shield just completed a babyface turn recently, so the likelihood of them going their separate ways any time soon is low. Once their cumulative feud with Evolution is over, perhaps WWE can refocus their efforts on Ambrose's title.
The other option would be for Triple H, in his role as WWE Chief Operating Officer, could strip the US Title from Ambrose as a means of revenge and out of spite. It would allow Creative to put more time into the US Title and it would further the Shield/Evolution feud. Could be a worthwhile option...
28 April 2014
16 April 2014
The Rise of Daniel Bryan; Extreme Rules; and Predictions
The title reign of Daniel Bryan kicked off in a big way. He defeated Triple H at WrestleMania 30 to earn a spot in the WWE World Heavyweight Championship match later in the evening. After Triple H attacked him post-match, Bryan was able to recover enough to enter the title match, where Batista and then-champion Randy Orton joined forces to beat him down for a bit. A plot device…err, stretcher, was brought to ringside after one of the nastier bumps anyone has taken in a while. Batista scooped up Bryan for a Batista-Bomb (powerbomb) on the announce table, and when he powerbombed the smaller wrestler, Randy Orton caught him in an RKO to take him through the table. Bryan lay unmoving for a while. Orton landed roughly on a TV monitor, leading to two fairly deep cuts on his back.
Bryan was placed on the stretcher and the medics made it about ten feet up the ramp with him before Bryan yanked the neckbrace off and ran back to the ring. He proceeded to knock Orton out of the ring and place Batista in the YES! Lock. Batista tapped out just as Orton was rising from the floor. Bryan was the new champion, the old champion was not weakened in the booking, and a feud that had dominated the story since SummerSlam was finally capped off.
The next night on Raw Daniel Bryan entered the ring to celebrate, but was confronted by an irate Triple H, who stated that he was challenging Bryan for the championship in the main event. Orton and Batista were understandably angered, but as Triple H laid out the plan for them, it became evident that an old stable was reuniting. Kane and Stephanie McMahon brought in the Shield, presumably to ensure that nothing went wrong. Unfortunately for them, Kane spilled the beans the Triple H had ordered an attack on the Shield that was the storyline genesis of the stable’s babyface turn.
Bryan came to the ring for the main event, at which time Orton and Batista came out. The former members of Evolution proceeded to beat down the champion, hitting another Batista Bomb and another RKO. Kane then came to the ring and hit Bryan with a heavy chokeslam. As the champion lay motionless in the ring, Triple H’s music hit and The Game made his way down. After ordering the referee to start the match, Triple H mocked Bryan’s fans with his own “Yes!” chant. Just as he moved to pick Bryan up, the Shield hit the ringside area. Triple H paused to watch them as Roman Reigns lead them to the ring apron. Kane, Orton, and Batista also climbed onto the ring apron. The two groups found themselves in the ring staring down each other as Triple H ordered them all to stand down, claiming that the situation would not break down into a war. As The Game turned back to the Shield Roman Reigns nailed him with a spear.
![]() |
| Reigns Spears Triple H |
Ambrose and Rollins took out Orton and Batista while Kane attacked Reigns. Eventually the Shield cleared the ring of everyone except Triple H. As the COO staggered back to his feet, he shook his finger at Reigns, admonishing the Shield for their actions. The moment Triple H turned around, Daniel Bryan ran over him with a hard Busaiku knee kick (a running high knee to the face).
The next Monday on Raw, with Daniel Bryan absent (on his honeymoon), Triple H would turn the tables on the Shield. He booked them in the main event against an unknown opponent. Once the Shield was in the ring, the following wrestlers came out against them: Alberto Del Rio, Jack Swagger, Fandango, the members of 3MB, Titus O’Neil, Rybaxel, Alexander Rusev, and Wade Barrett (his character is Bad News Barrett, but he was actually announced as Wade Barrett for this match). The match began like any other 11-on-3 tag match. The teams traded blows until chaos took over and the Team of 11 tore down the Shield. As the Hounds of Justice were left writhing in the ring, Evolution’s theme music hit and Triple H, Randy Orton, and Batista made their way out to continue the beat-down. Several finishers later Triple H stood over a crawling Roman Reigns, mocking him and telling him to “Believe in Evolution” before finally hitting him with a Pedigree.
Meanwhile, earlier in the night, Stephanie McMahon gave Director of Operations Kane a verbal lashing. She wanted to know where the monster was, since Corporate Kane has been a “shell” of what he once was. Kane, who surrendered his mask to Stephanie when he joined the Authority, removed the mask from its glass case and said he would “eviscerate” Daniel Bryan.
In other storyline news, the 14 April episode of Raw saw the first round of a tournament to determine the #1 Contender for the Intercontinental Championship, currently held by Big E (Langston). Sheamus, Cesaro, Bad News Barrett, and Rob Van Dam all winning the opening matches. Big E hasn’t had a true challenger for his title in a long time. Frankly, it seems as though WWE’s Creative team has forgotten that midcard championships even exist. Hopefully this is the first step toward rectifying that mistake. Cesaro, the newly minted King of Swing and Paul Heyman Guy, has unresolved issues with his former Real Americans teammate, Jack Swagger.
![]() |
| Paige locks Emma into the Scorpion Cross Lock |
Newly crowned Divas Champion Paige competed in her first non-title match on the main roster as she took on Alicia Fox in one of the better Divas matches WWE has put on in a long time. Paige has two solid finishing moves: the Paige Turner (a leg-sweep fireman’s carry slam) and the Scorpion Crosslock (a sort combination between Sting’s Scorpion Deathlock and a full nelson, applying loads of torque to the back and waist).
In a carryover feud from WrestleMania, John Cena and Bray Wyatt are still going at it. Wyatt delivered a live promo for the first time in a long time. He typically does pre-taped promos, so editing can give it that extra air of creepiness. But Wyatt called out John Cena and Cena responded, cracking jokes, belittling the Wyatt Family, and showing cheesy photoshop pictures of the Wyatts in drag. It was juvenile at best. The laughter heard during the segment came from Cena’s toddler fan base, their soccer moms, and Michael Cole and Jerry Lawler. The third man on commentary, JBL, I’m sure was shaking his head at the giggling of his prepubescent co-presenters. Wyatt demanded Cena be serious, and Cena’s demeanor changed. He challenged Wyatt to a steel cage match at Extreme Rules. Wyatt laughed and accepted the challenge.
What does all of this mean? It means we’re getting a clear picture of what WWE has planned for the next pay-per-view event, Extreme Rules. So here’s an early prediction of the Extreme Rules card:
Pre-Show:
#1 Contenders Tag Team Title Match
Rybaxel vs Goldust/Rhodes vs Los Matadores vs Miz/Ziggler
I’m grasping at straws here because the other matches are, I think, too important to be dumped on the preshow.
Winner: Rybaxel
Rybaxel vs Goldust/Rhodes vs Los Matadores vs Miz/Ziggler
I’m grasping at straws here because the other matches are, I think, too important to be dumped on the preshow.
Winner: Rybaxel
Extreme Rules (not necessarily in this order)
Divas Championship
Paige (c) vs AJ Lee – 2 out of 3 Falls
Rarely does a Divas match merit more than 5 minutes of TV time. But Paige and AJ are two of the better Divas competitors on the roster. Putting them in a 2 out of 3 falls match will showcase the division and showcase its two brightest stars.
Winner: Paige
Paige (c) vs AJ Lee – 2 out of 3 Falls
Rarely does a Divas match merit more than 5 minutes of TV time. But Paige and AJ are two of the better Divas competitors on the roster. Putting them in a 2 out of 3 falls match will showcase the division and showcase its two brightest stars.
Winner: Paige
Tag Team Championship
The Usos (c) vs Rybaxel
The Tag Team Division has taken a hit lately, with the Real Americans splitting up. Rybaxel has received a decent push lately, so seeing them claim gold might help further some story lines.
Winner: Rybaxel
The Usos (c) vs Rybaxel
The Tag Team Division has taken a hit lately, with the Real Americans splitting up. Rybaxel has received a decent push lately, so seeing them claim gold might help further some story lines.
Winner: Rybaxel
Jack Swagger vs Cesaro – I Quit Match
This has to be an “I Quit” match, given the animosity between them. Cesaro is a fairly fresh babyface, even with Paul Heyman in his corner. Swagger has a devastating submission hold in the Patriot (ankle) Lock. But since Cesaro is the man on the move here, the logical finish is Swagger saying “I Quit” during the Big Swing.
Winner: Cesaro
This has to be an “I Quit” match, given the animosity between them. Cesaro is a fairly fresh babyface, even with Paul Heyman in his corner. Swagger has a devastating submission hold in the Patriot (ankle) Lock. But since Cesaro is the man on the move here, the logical finish is Swagger saying “I Quit” during the Big Swing.
Winner: Cesaro
Intercontinental Championship
Big E (c) vs Bad News Barrett
Barrett is in the middle of a push right now that has seen him back into the ring in action and he’s winning. I’m not saying he’ll beat Big E, but it wouldn’t surprise me, either. This match may get the stipulation of having the other participants in the tournament to act as lumberjacks or enforcers. Just something to get more big names on the PPV.
Winner: Big E
Big E (c) vs Bad News Barrett
Barrett is in the middle of a push right now that has seen him back into the ring in action and he’s winning. I’m not saying he’ll beat Big E, but it wouldn’t surprise me, either. This match may get the stipulation of having the other participants in the tournament to act as lumberjacks or enforcers. Just something to get more big names on the PPV.
Winner: Big E
John Cena vs Bray Wyatt – Steel Cage Match
The mic work between these two has been very solid. Cena has resorted to some cheap jokes for the sake of the children, but I’m glad Creative is letting Bray Wyatt actually call out the kids during his promos. It adds a layer of intrigue to the feud. I can almost image this match leading to someone bleeding (rare for WWE in this PG Era). If Cena wins this match, then we’ll know that Creative is more concerned with protecting its superhero babyfaces than will truly building up new and threatening heels. But I don’t see Cena winning this time.
Winner: Bray Wyatt
The mic work between these two has been very solid. Cena has resorted to some cheap jokes for the sake of the children, but I’m glad Creative is letting Bray Wyatt actually call out the kids during his promos. It adds a layer of intrigue to the feud. I can almost image this match leading to someone bleeding (rare for WWE in this PG Era). If Cena wins this match, then we’ll know that Creative is more concerned with protecting its superhero babyfaces than will truly building up new and threatening heels. But I don’t see Cena winning this time.
Winner: Bray Wyatt
![]() |
| Evolution mocks the Shield |
Six Man Tag Team Street Fight
Evolution (Triple H, Orton, Batista) vs The Shield
I’m not sure on the stipulation here, but the combatants seem right. This will be the first of several matches between these groups, and eventually Kane and Daniel Bryan will be pulled into this feud as well. If the Shield win this encounter, which is possible, then expect Triple H to make life a living pile of crap for the Hounds of Justice going forward.
Winner: The Shield
I’m not sure on the stipulation here, but the combatants seem right. This will be the first of several matches between these groups, and eventually Kane and Daniel Bryan will be pulled into this feud as well. If the Shield win this encounter, which is possible, then expect Triple H to make life a living pile of crap for the Hounds of Justice going forward.
Winner: The Shield
WWE World Heavyweight Championship
Daniel Bryan (c) vs Kane – Falls Count Anywhere
I have an alternative stipulation that I’ll detail in a minute, but this match will need something to drive home the notion that Kane is still a monster. He won’t beat Bryan, as there is no way WWE takes the titles off Bryan so soon after his dramatic win. In fact, this encounter may prove to be a one-time deal, much like Big Show vs Randy Orton at Survivor Series. Bryan will win, but Kane will get in more than a few good punches.
Winner: Daniel Bryan
Daniel Bryan (c) vs Kane – Falls Count Anywhere
I have an alternative stipulation that I’ll detail in a minute, but this match will need something to drive home the notion that Kane is still a monster. He won’t beat Bryan, as there is no way WWE takes the titles off Bryan so soon after his dramatic win. In fact, this encounter may prove to be a one-time deal, much like Big Show vs Randy Orton at Survivor Series. Bryan will win, but Kane will get in more than a few good punches.
Winner: Daniel Bryan
![]() |
| Who is that face-painted blurry figure? |
Alternative Stipulation
WWE World Heavyweight Championship
Daniel Bryan (c) vs Kane – Ladder Match
The alternative idea for the title bout is a ladder match. The titles hang above the ring as Kane and Bryan go at it. Eventually Bryan will get the upper hand and climb the ladder to grab the belts. As he does, the cable holding the belts will rise, lifting the titles out of his reach. The camera will pan up to reveal someone like crooked referee Scott Anderson or one of the New Age Outlaws perched in the rafters controlling the cable winch. After a few more minutes of fighting, Bryan once again ascends the ladder and once again the titles lift out of reach. When the camera pans up again we see Sting standing behind the winch operator. He takes that person out and lowers the titles into Bryan’s reach. It introduces Sting to the audience without necessarily weakening Bryan.
Winner: Daniel Bryan
Daniel Bryan (c) vs Kane – Ladder Match
The alternative idea for the title bout is a ladder match. The titles hang above the ring as Kane and Bryan go at it. Eventually Bryan will get the upper hand and climb the ladder to grab the belts. As he does, the cable holding the belts will rise, lifting the titles out of his reach. The camera will pan up to reveal someone like crooked referee Scott Anderson or one of the New Age Outlaws perched in the rafters controlling the cable winch. After a few more minutes of fighting, Bryan once again ascends the ladder and once again the titles lift out of reach. When the camera pans up again we see Sting standing behind the winch operator. He takes that person out and lowers the titles into Bryan’s reach. It introduces Sting to the audience without necessarily weakening Bryan.
Winner: Daniel Bryan
If WWE plays its cards right, the long term feud between the Shield and Evolution will be money. John Cena and Bray Wyatt have at least two more matches against each other before moving on to other things. If/When Wyatt wins at Extreme Rules, then look to Payback or Money in the Bank for the payoff match. Wyatt needs the win more than Cena, but Creative has shown a nasty penchant for protecting their superheroes. The Intercontinental Title is once again gaining prominence. Let’s just hope WWE follows through with making the belt mean more. The same goes for the US Title, which has basically been in hiding since last year.
07 April 2014
Thoughts on WrestleMania XXX
Last night WWE put on their version of the Super Bowl. WrestleMania 30 came to us from the Superdome in New Orleans. There are a million places online where you can get recaps, rehashes, winners, losers, and just about anything else you want. I want to tackle this differently.
I want to talk about four particular images from WrestleMania that will stick with me for a while.
The first of these images comes from the Andre the Giant Memorial Battle Royal.
![]() |
| Cesaro Wins the Andre the Giant Memorial Battle Royal Trophy |
The Battle Royal was a hectic as any 30-man battle royal can be, but it also never really caught the audience until close to the end, when only a few combatants remained. The final two men in contention for the trophy were Cesaro, and the odds-on favorite, Big Show. Cesaro tried several times to knock Big Show over the top rope, but was unsuccessful. Show struck back with a chop to Cesaro as the latter dove off the top rope at him.
Cesaro once again gained the upper-hand and pushed Big Show to the ropes. Then, in a scene reminiscent of Hulk Hogan body-slamming Ander the Giant at WrestleMania III, Cesaro scooped up Big Show, carried him to the ropes, and dumped him over. Big Show is roughly 7-feet tall and about 400-450 pounds. Cesaro is much, much smaller. It was a feel-good moment, especially as Big Show and Cesaro shook hands afterward and Cesaro was awarded his prize.
The second image comes from the bout between Bray Wyatt and John Cena.
This was the best built feud going in to WrestleMania, and the action bore that out. The two men started the match in a methodical pace, sometimes glacially slow, in order to better work the crowd. Wyatt claimed that he wanted to reveal Cena for the monster he is. And he gave Cena every opportunity.
![]() |
| You can see the crowd singing and swaying in the background. Bray Wyatt is gold. |
John Cena has been established as the righteous hero to children. But on this night he would toe the line. Wyatt pushed him to the point that Cena brazenly attacked Wyatt, choking him in the corner and striking with punches that Cena rarely uses.
Cena would not remain in control, though, as Wyatt battled back, leaving Cena reeling in the corner as Wyatt led a group of ringside fans in a chorus of “He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands.” Wyatt left the ring to grab a chair. The referee implored him not to bring the chair into the ring, but Wyatt did anyway.
![]() |
| Bray Wyatt does the "Spider Walk" Call the Exorcist! |
Then he put the chair on the mat and kicked it over to Cena. Cena stood up with the chair.
Wyatt knelt before him. So here’s the image: John Cena standing tall holding a steel chair. Bray Wyatt kneeling on the mat begging Cena to finish him off. The ringside crowd swaying and singing “He’s got the whole world…” It was surreal, creepy theater.
My takeaway from Wyatt-Cena isn’t that Cena got the win; I figured Creative would book him to win, as WrestleMania is usually the place where the good guys win and the bad guys lose. After all, we can’t let Cena’s toddler fan-base think good guys lose. No, my takeaway is that one image. Although Wyatt popping up into his spider-walk as Cena was going for the 5-Knuckle Shuffle was creepy, too.
The third image comes from the night’s main event.
Daniel Bryan won a very physical, quite technical match with Triple H to open the show, earning a spot in the WWE World Heavyweight Championship match later on. Triple H, though, proceeded to beat down Bryan once more, delivering a vicious chair shot to his already-injured shoulder.
![]() |
| Daniel Bryan finally claims his prize! |
As champion Randy Orton and challenger Batista took to the ring, Daniel Bryan came out and it was obvious he was hurting. As the match got rolling, Bryan had plenty of time to rest, as Orton and Batista took a lot out of each other. The moment that Daniel Bryan began to gain the upper-hand, Triple H and Stephanie appeared. They removed the referee from the match and inserted their own referee, a known lackey for the Authority. Daniel Bryan quickly eliminated him from the match and then took out the entire Authority with a suicide dive. Triple H replied by pulling a sledgehammer from under the ring, but Bryan got the hammer away from Triple H and instead hit the game.
As the Authority retreated, Bryan turned his attention back to the Orton and Batista, who teamed up momentarily to put Bryan out of commission. The bearded superstar would rally, though, and eventually find himself with Batista in the “YES!” Lock and Orton lying prone outside the ring. Batista would tap out and Bryan would win the belts.
The lasting image of the main event is Daniel Bryan kneeling on the mat, staring at the title belts laid before him. It was a scene reminiscent of Shawn Michaels first title victory. On a night of throwbacks to old WrestleMania moments, that one was pretty big.
But all of these images pale in comparison to scene #4: The Streak…
The Undertaker was 21-0 at WrestleMania. Was. Brock Lesnar finally ended the Streak, changing Taker’s record to 21-1. It was a scene that people thought might one day play out. There is a tradition in wrestling that a veteran always goes out on their back. Sometimes it is to put over a younger star. Sometimes it is just because of tradition.
![]() |
| The Fallen Undertaker. Biggest Shock of the Night. |
I’m not sure about this one. Lesnar did not need a victory over Undertaker. Lesnar is a part timer, just like Taker. And given how long Taker stayed in the ring afterwards, and the slowness with which he got up, it was obvious something was wrong. Reports afterward say Undertaker was taken to the hospital with a concussion and possible neck injury. As Undertaker stood up and left the ring, he was greeted with cheers and applause.
The lasting image, though, is silence. When the referee’s hand slapped the mat on the three count, the entire Superdome deflated. Shocked expressions reigned. For a while, it seemed like the only two people making any noise were Paul Heyman and Brock Lesnar, celebrating at ring side. It took over a minute before Lesnar’s music kicked on, which was likely a play by WWE’s production crew to make it appear as though Lesnar’s music wasn’t even keyed up for possible play after the match. And the Undertaker lay in the center of the ring, staring up.
![]() |
| Fans React to Undertaker Losing for the first time at WrestleMania |
When I saw the referee count three, I had a sudden sinking feeling that I had just watched the Undertaker’s final match. The dream match with Sting at WrestleMania 31 was out. I actually thought Taker might grab a mic and retire on the spot. Now, though, I think that happens at raw tonight.
Either way, Monday Night Raw is sure to hear chants of “Thank You, Taker!”
Labels:
batista,
bray wyatt,
championship,
creative,
daniel bryan,
Hulk Hogan,
john cena,
paul heyman,
randy orton,
shield,
the shield,
undertaker,
wrestlemania,
wrestling,
wwe,
wwf,
wyatt family,
yes,
yes movement
01 April 2014
WrestleMania XXX: Confidence Picks & Predictions
WrestleMania XXX is scheduled to air this Sunday, April 6, from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans. This is normally WWE’s biggest show of the year, but so far it seems like the Creative Team has really dropped the ball on promoting the event. The announcers on Raw and SmackDown talk about the upcoming pay-per-view, but they usually do so as it relates to the ever-annoying WWE App.
So here’s the projected card for the event, in the order that I believe the matches will go off. The confidence pick work thusly: it's basically just a percentage call on how confident I am in my prediction.
Pre-Show:
Fatal 4-Way for the Tag Team Championships
The Usos (c) vs. The Real Americans vs. Ryback & Curtis Axel vs. Los Matadores
WrestleMania XXX:
Triple H vs. Daniel Bryan (winner enters the main event)
Andre the Giant Memorial Battle Royal
Kane & the New Age Outlaws vs. The Shield
John Cena vs. Bray Wyatt
Vickie Guerrero Divas Championship Invitational
Brock Lesnar vs. The Undertaker
Randy Orton vs. Batista vs. TBA for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship
Predictions:
Fatal 4-Way for the Tag Team Championships
The Usos (c) vs. the Real Americans vs. Ryback & Curtis Axel vs. Los Matadores
It’s kind of sad that this match has been relegated to the pre-show, as the Usos are really good wrestlers. One half of the Real Americans, (don’t call him Antonio) Cesaro, is really getting over with the fans. I can’t see Los Matadores winning the titles, as they are primarily a comedy team. Ryback and Axel, affectionately known as RybAxel, likely won’t win either. The question is, does WWE intend to have Cesaro and teammate Jack Swagger part company, or not? If the answer to that question is “yes,” then the Usos will leave New Orleans with the Tag Team belts. If the answer is “no,” then we might see the Real Americans take the titles. I’m leaning towards the former, though.
Winner: The Usos (confidence in this pick is 75%)
Triple H vs. Daniel Bryan (Winner Enters the Main Event for the WWE Championship)
There’s a reason I think this match goes on first at WrestleMania…I think the main event will turn out to be a fatal 4-way bout for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship. There is too much animosity built up between all four men for the WWE to squander it now. Bryan and Triple H have traded beat downs the last few weeks, and all of that comes to a head Sunday. I’m thinking there is some kind of screw-job finish in which Triple H wins, heaping even more heel heat on himself. At that point, some type of Authority figure (perhaps even Vince McMahon himself) comes out and tells Triple H that, because of the circumstances of his win, the title match main event will feature Orton, Batista, Triple H, and Daniel Bryan. Putting this match on first allows an older Triple H to rest and recuperate prior to going on again.
Winner: Either Triple H (dirty) or some kind of double count-out, double DQ situation (confidence: 90+%)
Andre the Giant Memorial Battle Royal
Rey Mysterio, Zack Ryder, Sin Cara, Great Khali, Darren Young, Brodus Clay, Justin Gabriel, R-Truth, Santino Marella, Mark Henry, Kofi Kingston, Christian, Cody Rhodes, Goldust, Sheamus, Jinder Mahal, Heath Slater, Drew McIntyre, Fandango, Dolph Ziggler, The Miz, Damien Sandow, Titus O'Neil, Big E, Alberto Del Rio, Big Show (four open spots remain)
While the Big Show looks to be the odd-on favorite to win this over-the-top-rope battle royal, I wouldn’t be surprised if the winner came from the four spots yet to be announced. It’s entirely possible that WWE chooses to fill those spots with younger guys from NXT. Bulgarian strongman Alexander Rusev is an obvious selection for one of the slots. Former NXT champion Bo Dallas is another possibility. There are several guys from the developmental circuit that could be used: Corey Graves, Viktor, Connor, Adrian Neville, Sami Zayn, Adam Rose, etc. That said, I have a feeling this comes down to Big Show vs Rusev, with the upstart rookie getting a big win on a grand stage.
Winner: Alexander Rusev (confidence 50%)
Kane & the New Age Outlaws vs. the Shield
The Shield’s talent is wasted in the match. Sorry, but it’s true. Kane and the NAO, unless they cheat like crazy, stand very little chance of upending the Shield. Reigns, Rollins, and Ambrose are working great as a newly-minted babyface group. I can’t imagine WWE would break them up so soon after turning them, so I think the Shield wins a match that will probably be booked closer than it would ever actually be.
Winner: the Shield (Rollins pins Kane after a Reigns spear) (confidence 90%)
John Cena (with Hulk Hogan) vs. Bray Wyatt (with Harper & Rowan)

This is the match I’ve been waiting on. This is the match with the best build (sorry, Triple H vs Bryan). Bray Wyatt’s promos have delivered every step of the way. Cena’s demeanor has taken on an air of intensity not seen in a long time. Wyatt has talked about his desire to end Cena’s legacy, and reveal the true nature of John Cena to all his fans. During his promo on the 31 March episode of Raw, Wyatt finally alluded to Cena’s mostly child fan base, rattling off a long line about focusing on gardens and ignoring landfills and being forced to see things for what they really are, which he finished with a mockingly goofy grin and the line “Do I have your attention now, kids?” Cena attacked Wyatt after Wyatt’s match later in the night, and delivered a promo of his own, unleashing some of the intensity that’s been lacking. But I fear that WWE will take the easy road out and pull a standard Cena, which means Cena will be beaten within an inch of his life, only to charge back and defeat Wyatt cleanly, making it look easy. I really hope Bray Wyatt wins, as Cena is at the point in his career where it is more beneficial to himself and the company to start putting younger guys over. But if Cena is to win, this is how I want it to go down. I want Bray Wyatt to demolish Cena. Maybe with interference, maybe on his own. I’d even like Wyatt to hit the Sister Abigail on Cena to finish him off…and then Wyatt lies down and pulls an unconscious Cena on top of him. The referee counts three, and Wyatt stands up, celebrating as Cena’s music plays. The next night on Raw Wyatt can begin talking up how Cena’s legacy is crumbling. Even though Cena “won” at WrestleMania, we all know who the victor is.
Winner: Bray Wyatt (regardless of outcome) (no confidence pick)
Vickie Guerrero Divas Championship Invitational
AJ Lee (c) vs. Nikki Bella, vs. Brie Bella vs. Tamina Snuka vs. Natalya vs. Eva Marie vs. Layla vs. Cameron vs. Naomi vs. Aksana vs. Summer Rae vs. Emma vs. Alicia Fox vs. Rosa Mendes
This will be chaos, confusion, and (unfortunately) tons of bad wrestling. WWE long ago gave up on the idea of female wrestlers and decided instead that they would rather have models who could occasionally wrestle. AJ has been a long-reigning champion, but her days look numbered, as SmackDown GM Vickie Guerrero has truly stacked the deck against her. There are several competitors here capable of carrying the title, but I see this one coming down to AJ, Brie Bella, Summer Rae, and Emma. AJ is likely losing the title, so she’s out. Summer Rae is a heel, so she’s out (unless Creative is breaking her apart from Fandango). Brie Bella is Daniel Bryan’s fiancĂ©e, so her winning would be interesting…especially if the rest of the evening plays out as I think it will. Honestly, though, I would put my money on Emma. She’s arguably the best wrestler of the bunch, at least until Paige is called up to the main roster.
Winner: Emma (confidence 50%)
Brock Lesnar (with Paul Heyman) vs. the Undertaker
Arguably the worst promoted Undertaker match in the last seven years…This feud technically began way back when Brock Lesnar was still a UFC champion. He and Taker had a staredown at a UFC event. In the WWE, this feud began when Lesnar was gifted an “open contract” for any match he wanted at WrestleMania. Instead of booking himself into the main event title match, Lesnar and Heyman took this as an insult and threatened to leave…until the Undertaker appeared. Lesnar signed the contract and poked Taker in the chest with the pen. Taker took the pen, stabbed Lesnar in the hand, and then signed the contract in Lesnar’s blood. Okay, that last bit didn’t happen. We’re in the PG Era, no one bleeds now, no matter how hard you hit them. Taker once again upstaged Lesnar by using the old "here's an empty casket, no wait, I'm actually in the casket" trick. Lesnar finally got revenge on the last Raw before WrestleMania, but it may just be too little too late. Everyone knows that WWE is looking to next year's WrestleMania for a dream match for Undertaker, so Brock Lesnar basically has no chance in this match. By the way, the dream match for WrestleMania 31 is Undertaker vs. Sting.
Winner: the Undertaker (22-0) (confidence 100%)
Randy Orton (c) vs. Batista vs. TBA for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship
I truly think this becomes a fatal 4-way match, and I’ll explain why. Randy Orton has not gotten the job done as champion, though this is far more the fault of Creative and booking than Orton. Batista never got over the way WWE believed he would. From winning a Royal Rumble that did NOT feature Daniel Bryan to a forced heel-turn to account for the amount of boos he was receiving, Batista has been on the short end since coming back. Daniel Bryan is the most over guy I’ve seen since a wrestler named Stone Cold Steve Austin was guzzling beers over 12 years ago. His rabid fan base has been clamoring for an ultimate payoff to his story ever since Triple H turned on him at SummerSlam and basically handed the title to Orton. Triple H is bent on stopping Daniel Bryan, even if it means claiming the WWE World Heavyweight Championship for himself. For me, there is only one logical conclusion to this match, and that is Daniel Bryan winning the titles, and holding the belts in the air while 65,000+ fans chant “Yes,” all while Bryan stands over a fallen Triple H. Let’s be honest, neither Orton nor Batista can fill in as the primary villainous foil for Daniel Bryan. That honor goes to the Game.
Winner: and new WWE World Heavyweight Champion…Daniel Bryan! (confidence 89%, a solid B-Plus)
Labels:
batista,
bray wyatt,
championship,
creative,
daniel bryan,
Hulk Hogan,
john cena,
kane,
paul heyman,
randy orton,
shield,
sting,
the shield,
undertaker,
wrestlemania,
wrestling,
wwe,
wyatt family,
yes,
yes movement
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)












